Arctic Expedition 2014

Gee, I feel bad that it’s been forever since I last posted here. Especially bad when my intention was to post more regularly. Oops! But I have a good reason. Since March, I’ve been really busy fundraising, planning, organizing, and preparing. In 10 days I’m headed out on an arctic expedition. I’ll be one of 46 educators and support staff on a Students On Ice arctic expedition, with 86 high school students from around the world. Incredible!

It’s been a massive amount of work to organize and prepare, but I’ve loved every minute of it and am so excited that I’ll soon be on an amazing adventure. I’ll be teaching environmental communication to the students. Environmental communication uses photography and videography to creating environmental messaging – messages about the environmental issues our planet faces and what we can all do about it. I truly believe that the biggest impediment to making progress in addressing global climate change, habitat loss, species extinction, and other environment issues, is a lack of understanding and a lack of attention to the issues. Environmental communication strives to change that. The saying is, a picture is worth a thousand words and I think there is a lot of truth to that.

For the next little while, I’ll be cross-posting, putting the posts on my Biosphere Blog, here on my photography blog. I hope you’ll enjoy reading about my adventure and the launch of my Youth Environmental Ambassadors Program.

To read about the arctic expedition on the Biosphere Blog, click HERE.

Campaign Screenshot_copyright

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Conservation & Environment, Dreams, nature photography

2 responses to “Arctic Expedition 2014

  1. Anne

    It sounds so exciting Shelley…..an amazing adventure. Good luck and have a wonderful time.

  2. Thanks Anne! :) I’m so excited about it. A bit panicked as there’s still so much to prepare, but it’ll be fine. Can’t wait to be on board that icebreaker, on our way. Really looking forward to sharing stories and photos when I’m back so be sure to tune back in. And I’ll try to post one or two really short blog posts on my Biosphere blog while I’m on the icebreaker. Tally-ho! :)

Leave a Reply

