Fall Photo-impressionism: ’tis the season for colourful abstracts

We’ve hit that time of year where I’m itching to get out and photograph the fall colours. I’m lucky to live in a part of the world that treats us to a symphony of colours every fall. Most people go out to photograph beautiful landscapes of colours. I do too. But more often than not, when I’m amongst these vibrant colours in the forest, I get the itch to set my camera to multiple exposure and rattle off some abstract images. Around here, the fall colours have been quite muted and quite short lived. I’m not sure if it’s the drought conditions we had this summer that has caused the lack of vibrance in the colours and the brevity of their show.

So I haven’t done nearly as much fall photography as I hoped to. But today I got out with some colleagues from my camera club, the Lanark County Camera Club, in Perth, Ontario. We went to the nearby Foley Mountain Conservation Area and spent a few hours practicing a variety of abstract techniques, such as multiple exposures, panning, and image overlay. Although there aren’t that many colourful leaves left on the trees after last night’s windstorm, our group still got some nice shots. And it’s a fun way to spend a morning – with nice, like-minded folks, doing something you love to do.

I can’t complain about the lack of spectacle in our local show of fall colours because a few weekends ago, I went up to northern Ontario, to the Temagami area about 5 hours north of here. I went up to scout out the location for my upcoming Canadian Outdoor Photography Workshop, planned for spring 2013 (I’ll be posting details here as they develop, so keep tuning in for more details or send me a message if you’d like me to send you details). We were lucky enough to time our trip for the peak of the fall colours up there. And what a treat they were. The colours were vibrant! Completely opposite of what we’ve had here, further south. In our driving many hundreds of km’s of back roads in the area, we drove through lots of forest, which presented ample opportunity to stop and make some abstract images. Even on dull, rainy days, the results of multiple exposures or panning can be beautiful.

Producing nice abstract images is not rocket science. In fact, the results can be quite unpredictable, especially with panning, which makes it all the more exciting! I’ve written a short piece on approaches to abstract and photo-impressionistic photography in my July Newsletter. You can view it by downloading it from my website or by clicking HERE.

Here are some recent images from several outings…..

0.8 seconds, f 29, ISO 100

1/3 second, f 25, ISO 160

1.3 seconds, f 29, ISO 100

1/30 second, f 8, ISO 320

1/20th second, f 9, ISO 320

1.3 seconds, f 20, ISO 100

1 second, f 25, ISO 100

1/3 second, f 18, ISO 100

1.3 seconds, f 22, ISO 200


3 Comments

Filed under Abstracts, Creative Photography, Fall, Photo-impressionism, photography

3 responses to “Fall Photo-impressionism: ’tis the season for colourful abstracts

  1. Nice work capturing the colors. The lines created by the tree trunks give to the images an interesting aesthetic.

  2. Cin

    Oh those are neat. I love how the colours blend. 🙂

  3. I really like these. I expect that these are a lot harder to create than first glance would suggest.

Leave a Reply

