Comparison of Nikon D800 and D4 by Nikon Rumors

Nikon Rumors has published a brief article comparing the new Nikon D800 with the new D4.

Click HERE to read Nikon Rumors comparison.

This is well worth the quick read. They’ve presented the info as a chart so the comparison is crystal clear. Have a look. What do you think?

For me, looking at that chart, I just can’t see a reason to spend a few thousand extra dollars on a D4. The only major difference I see between the two is the top continuous shooting speed. It’s 4 fps for the D800 but 10-11 for the D4. I don’t know about you, but 4 fps works for me! I’m not doing the kinds of photography that absolutely demand 10 fps.

The D4 also has a few added functions. But considering that the D800 is a dazzling 36 megapixels whereas the D4 is 16, well…. I know where I’ll be putting my dollars! That’s not to say the D4 isn’t a great camera. It isn’t top of the line for nothing. But I think Nikon was really smart in producing the D800. A lot of semi-pro or even pro photographers may not be able to afford the $6,000 for the D4. With all of it’s megapixels, features and price tag, Nikon has come out with a camera that has appeal to everyone – amateurs, semi-pros, pros…..

Leave a comment

Filed under equipment, Opinion, photography, technology

Leave a Reply

