Nobody’s Perfect….

I’m an Apple lover. I’ve been using Macs since I first started using computers (which, by the way, was during my 4th year of university, many moons ago. It sure beat using an abacus for performing statistical analyses!). In fact, I was such a dedicated Mac user through my 150 years as a graduate student that during my year as professor of ecology at Bates College, back in 2000-2001, I had to get my students to teach me how to use Windows and to show me what it meant to right and left click on a mouse. I know what your thinking and no, I was not embarrassed. I simply hadn’t been dragged into the Windows world and I was more than happy to let my students teach me something. And it made them feel good, so what the heck. 🙂

So yes, I’m a dyed in the wool Apple user. I have been dragged, kicking and screaming, into the Windows and Microsoft world. I had no choice. Resistance was futile. 🙂 And at work and at home I use PC’s. But everything to do with my photography is done on an Apple. I own an iPad and an iPod, but not an iPhone. I’m not addicted to Apple products (there, I finally said it. No more need for an intervention….I admit I’m addicted) because they are currently the ‘in’ thing. I was an Apple addict back in the days when a Mac was a little square box with an 8 inch monochrome screen. So believe me, it’s not the hype that has made me an Apple addict. I don’t use Apple products just because all my friends use them. It’s because I really, really like Apple products. I think Apple is smart (mostly, but see below), innovative, creative, and forward thinking. And I like that.

So is Apple perfect? Nope! We all come with warts and hairy moles (ok, maybe not hairy moles). In a recent blog post, Photoshop Guru Scott Kelby, wrote about one of Apple’s warts. He bought a new retina display MacBook Pro. A slick machine. He likes it. But… as he learned painfully, leave it at home. At least for now.

During a shoot, with tight timelines, Scott learned that the new MacBook Pro doesn’t have a cable lock slot. In other words, you cannot use a typical laptop cable lock to secure your laptop. It sounds like it was a painful discovery for Scott. Perhaps it was more of a hairy mole than a wart. But it sounds like he has found alternatives for laptop security. Still…. it’s annoying as $#7&^%!!! to discover, in the middle of a shoot, that you can’t lock down your laptop. It may not sound like much, but when there are clients and big $ at stake, something seemingly little can be a big problem. Read Scott’s blog post to learn about his experience. I’m hoping he’ll follow up with a post about the solutions he found and which one he’s settled on.

In the meantime, I hope someone from Apple is reading Scott’s post, smacking their palm on their forehead while exclaiming, “Doah!” And more importantly, I hope that they are going to be in the office late tonight so that they can do some wart (or hairy mole) removal and ensure that the next round of new MacBook Pro’s that get produced have a teensy-weensy little slot on the side of the laptop casing, so that the rest of us can use our cable locks to ensure our new MacBook Pro’s are safe the next time we’re surfing the web at Starbucks and we need to run to have a pee. It’s either that or wear Depends. 😉

I hope Apple’s listening….

Leave a comment

Filed under Digital Photography, equipment, lessons learned, Opinion, technology

Leave a Reply

