On A Cold Winter’s Night…

Last night we were treated to a beautiful moon. With the heavy blanket of snow covering the ground and our frozen pond, the moonlight reflecting off the snow lit up the nighttime landscape.

I donned my parka and snowmobile boots and waded through the knee-deep snow in our backyard to make a few images of the moon and our pond.

Before I made any images, I stood in silence, soaking up the moonlight and the stunningly beautiful landscape before me. The silence was incredible. No wind, no animals calling – just the kind of silence that reaches to the depths of your soul.

Here are a few images from last night’s wonderful show…

The bright moonlight reflecting off the blanket of snow on our pond

The bright moonlight reflecting off the blanket of snow on our pond

 

The deer have been active recently. They criss-cross our pond, in search of something to eat and shelter from the cold winds.

 

Deer tracks criss-cross our pond.

Deer tracks criss-cross our pond.

 

Not a creature was stirring….

 

The only sound I heard was that of something making its way through the deep snow and trees. Probably deer, for their nightly visit.

The only sound I heard was that of something making its way through the deep snow and trees. Probably deer, for their nightly visit.

 

 

8 Comments

Filed under Creative Photography, Digital Photography, Landscape, Nature, nature photography, Winter

8 responses to “On A Cold Winter’s Night…

  1. Greetings! This is my first comment here so I just wanted
    to give a quick shout out and tell you I truly enjoy reading through your articles.
    Can you recommend any other blogs/websites/forums that cover the same subjects?
    Thanks!

    • Hi there,
      Thanks very much for your kind comment. Very much appreciated. 🙂

      Your question is a great one. We’re all constantly on the look out for great content to read. I’m always looking and discovering new things.

      I thought that instead of answering your question here in the reply, that instead, I’d make my reply to you an actual blog post. Give me a day or two to get my favourite blog list together and I’ll post a mini review of what I read. The content is similar to what I like to write about, so hopefully it will appeal to you.

      Stay tuned. I’ll post my ‘answer’ to your question very soon! So check back here and I’ll have a list for you.

      Cheers and thanks for writing,

      Shelley

  2. Have you ever thought about publishing an ebook or guest
    authoring on other websites? I have a blog based on the
    same subjects you discuss and would really like to have you share some stories/information.
    I know my viewers would enjoy your work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free
    to shoot me an email.

  3. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this site.

    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade blog posts from you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my very own website now 😉

    • Hi there – thanks so much for your kind comment. I’m glad you’re enjoying my blog. I hope you’ll hit the Follow button. You’ll see that what I cover here is pretty varied, but in doing that, I hope there is a little something for everyone.

      Thanks for taking the time to send me a comment. I really appreciate it. And please feel free to leave me a comment on other blog posts. I love hearing from my readers. Cheers! 🙂

  4. hello there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this web site, as I experienced to reload the website many times previous to I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but sluggish loading
    instances times will often affect your placement in google and can damage your
    quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for much more of your respective interesting content.
    Make sure you update this again soon.

    • Thanks for your comment. Sorry to hear things are loading in slowly. I’ve never had problems with my web hosting service, but I can check into it. Glad you added the RSS feed. More great content coming soon. 🙂

  5. hi!,I really like your writing very a lot!
    proportion we keep in touch more approximately your article
    on AOL? I require an expert on this area to resolve my problem.
    May be that is you! Taking a look forward to peer you.

Leave a Reply

