Tactilize – a new resource for photographers?

I try to make time to tune into a variety of info pages to keep up with new technology, new developments in photography, new software, things like that. I’ll say right off the bat, it’s impossible. You just can’t keep up. But I figure tuning in, even irregularly, will still keep you partially informed.

Yesterday I tripped over something called Tactilize. From what I’ve read, it’s hot off the presses, very new! Now how to explain it… In a nutshell, it’s a service where you can use their web-based software for building iPad apps. But they aren’t apps in the sense we normally think of them; they’re ‘cards’, which are one page posts. Could be an image, an advertisement for your website or an exhibit. Just about anything. It’s another way to get your content out there. But I like it. It’s fresh and simple.

Tactilize_SS

I’m quickly learning that engaging in social media is absolutely essential for building a following and developing a name in photography (or any other business). If you don’t ‘put yourself out there’, nobody really knows about you. It’s a tough slog, but oh so necessary.

I’m a huge fan of digital technology. Although I wonder what being addicted to our smartphones will do to our brains and eyeballs over the longterm, I do feel that we are in a period of unprecedented development, where global communication sits at our fingertips. All you need is access to a computer and the internet (yes, I realize that there are many people in the world who don’t have access to and can’t afford such access – I think that’s something that needs to change – we need to democratize access to communication tools).

I decided to try Tactilize. My first ‘card’ is a mock-up of my advertising postcard for my photography business – 44th Parallel Photography. Nature photography is a really big field and getting noticed is hard. So I figure using a variety of ways to get the word out is worth the effort.

Here’s what my first card looks like:

Tactilize Advert_44thParallel

 

 

There’s an iPad app you can download from iTunes store

 

Grab the free Tactilize app from the iTunes store so that you can browse the 'cards' on your iPad

Grab the free Tactilize app from the iTunes store so that you can browse the ‘cards’ on your iPad

 

The Tactilize website has a brief video describing what they are all about. Have a look.

At this point, I’m intrigued by it all. Who knows what my final view will be – whether it’s a keeper or not. But for now, I like it. It’s different. There are so many info sharing services out there – Facebook, Twitter, Google+, Pinterest, just to name a very few. But Tactilize seems different (either that or I’m living a sheltered existence and am not aware of its equivalent out there; if that’s the case, post a comment to let me know what else is out there).

If you give it a try, post a comment here and let me know what you think. I’m curious to know!

Leave a comment

Filed under Creative Photography, Digital Photography, nature photography, photography, small business, technology

Leave a Reply

